Clay Target Club honours trio at Christmas shoot

Barry Rue, Robin Campbell and John Lawrence.
Barry Rue, Robin Campbell and John Lawrence.

Canowindra Gun Club’s annual Christmas Shoot is over for another year. 

We began the day with a special presentation from club president, Bill Wilson, who acknowledged three particular members for all of their dedication, commitment and hard work over the last 30 years.   John Lawrence, Barry Rue and Robin Campbell have committed to a combined total of 100 years at the club, ensuring every single aspect has been taken care of to make Canowindra the amazing club that it is today. Our shooting events commenced with the 25 Target Double Barrel which saw many people shooting a perfect score. Graded winners were.

AA: D Weal, D Hunter, J Hunter, P Sullivan, B Heaslip, A Jones, G Sinclair, J Finn, B Rue.

A: M Dun, B: P Knight, C: J Murphy.

The 25 Target Single Barrel was the next event which still managed to tally high scores. Graded Winners for the single barrel were.

AA: J Hunter (with a perfect score of 25!) A: J Colgan, B: B Alston, C: P Cudars.

Today’s third event saw shooters compete in a 25 Target Point Score, where shooting the clay on the first shot is awarded three points; second shot is two points and a miss is zero.

Winners for each grade were.

AA: G Evans (Perfect score of 75!)

A: J Colgan, B: S Dun, C: W Parnaby.

For the final event of our Christmas shoot, we had the 25 Target Handicap.

As a special treat today, everyone was rewarded with a metre forward advantage in the festive spirit. A shoot off between Barry Heaslip and Billy Hunt was required to determine the placings. First place went to B Heaslip, whilst Billy Hunt took out the second place for this event. As an extra bonus of our Christmas shoot, we awarded High Gun winners in each grade this month, with winners each taking home a Ham (donated by Barry Heaslip of Inland Pest Management).

Overall: B Heaslip (Sash sponsored by Darryl Weal of Gunsmoke Bathurst)

AA: G Evans and D Hunter

A: J Colgan, B: S Dun, C: W Parnaby.​

A huge thank you to all members, guests and committee members for all of their hard work and dedication to make our club great. 

Next shoot is February 18.