Brown bags a double while Hoswell, Pearce continue Rhinos’ huge run | Photos

Jayden Brown has capped a stellar year leading Canowindra in the Woodbridge Cup by winning his second Alex Armstrong medal.

The gifted Tigers half edged Eugowra try-scoring phenom Mitch Hutchings and wiry Cargo pivot Matt Fuller for the first grade player of the year gong, Brown’s red-hot start to the season gifting him enough early points to eventually hold off the pair of challengers.

Woodbridge Cup president Andrew Pull said Brown was a worthy recipient of his second Alex Armstrong medal, this year’s gong making it back-to-back player of the year awards for the Tigers’ halfback.

“We had a touch over 130 people there and the countdown made it pretty exciting,” Pull said.

“Jayden held off the late charge from a couple of players.”

In the main, Manildra had a great night at the awards, with youth league star Harry Pearce and league tag young-gun Molly Hoswell taking out their respective player of the year awards, too.

Pearce took out the Houghton/Eppelstun medal for open junior player of the year while Hoswell bagged the ladies league tag top gong.

“She played junior tag on Saturdays and then backed up for seniors on Sundays … Molly is quick,” Pull said.

“Heidi Regan has been the pin-up speedster in the league tag competition for a few years now but Molly is gaining on her. She had a great season.”

Regan didn’t leave empty handed. She scored 34 tries in 15 games throughout Cargo’s minor premiership charge to earn the competition’s top try-scorer award.

Hutchings and Manildra’s Jordan Packham took out the first grade and youth league top try-scoring awards with 27 and 17 respectively.

Hutchings also won the Cup’s top point-scorer award with 234 points. Trent Fliedner (120 points) was the youth league’s best for Manildra and Hoswell and Regan shared that award in league tag, with 136 points each.

In other awards, Rhino Jesse Astill took out the Dave Cooper Memorial under 20s Representative Encouragement award.

Trundle Boomer Sam Horsburgh won the Williams Encouragement award, Burrangong’s Brett Campbell won coach of the year and Will Purdie won the Woodbridge Cup referee of the year.