Seven vie for seat of Calare on Saturday

Voting Saturday.
Voting Saturday.

Canowindra residents all have to wait until Saturday, May 18 before lodging their votes in the Federal election.

Voters in larger centres have been lodging their votes for the past two weeks but no pre-poll facility has been available in Canowindra.

Voting will take place on May 18 at the Canowindra High School between 8am and 6pm.

The majority of Canowindra residents are voting in the seat of Calare and a small number in the seat of Riverina.

Those voting in Calare have seven candidates to choose from - sitting member and National Party candidate Andrew Gee, Sam Romano representing the Shooters, Shuyi Chen from the Christian Democrats, Beverley Cameron from United Australia, Stephen Bisgrove from the Liberal Democrats and Stephanie Luke from the Greens.

Residents voting in Riverina have four candidates to choose from - sitting member and National Party candidate Michael McCormack, Mark Jeffreson from the Labor Party, Richard Foley from United Australia and Michael Bayles from the Greens.

McCormack is $1.01 to retain his seat while Gee is also a short priced favourite with betting agencies at $1.25.

Charles Sturt University's (CSU) political science Associate Professor Dominic O'Sullivan says with the federal election this Saturday, candidates for the Calare electorate are campaigning hard to attract final votes.

Professor O'Sullivan said strategies would be in place to target the 18 per cent of voters in Calare who are aged 70 years or older.

"The population is ageing and rural seats, like Calare, more than in urban seats so obviously candidates in those seats will be mindful of that," he said.

Calare might traditionally be a Nationals stronghold, but Assoc Prof O'Sullivan predicts the party might not win so convincingly at this election.

"I think in terms of Calare, it's likely the Nationals candidates will prevail, but with a swing against them," he said.