Opening Cudal stand sets up win over Canowindra

Craig Carpenter (keeper) was the top scorer for Canowindra against Cudal last weekend. File photo.

Craig Carpenter (keeper) was the top scorer for Canowindra against Cudal last weekend. File photo.

Despite an entertaining 42 from opener Craig Carpenter Canowindra were unable to run down the 189 set for victory by Cudal when the two sides met at Cudal's Dean Park on Saturday for the Tim Kennedy Memorial Trophy.

Forced to bowl in showery conditions Canowindra were set the 189 run target after good batting from the Cudal opening pair T Mendel and A Smith and middle order batsman J Ryan.

Mendel and Smith put on 43 and 45 respectively before Ryan strode to the pitch, compiling 68 not out which included one six and seven fours.

Ryan hit 33 runs from the final 12 deliveries he faced.

Mendel also showed his liking for the boundary rope, sending eight deliveries to the fence from just 16 balls faced as he and Smith put on an opening stand that reached 79 before the first Cudal wicket fell in the 20th over.

Ben Rooke stood out for the Canowindra attack taking the wickets of Mendel, Smith, L Cornich and J Jeeva to finish with 4-23 off nine overs.

Cormac McHenry took the only other wicket for Canowindra, finishing with 1-48 off eight overs.

In reply Canowindra were in early trouble with Ben Rooke out in the fourth over without scoring and the score at 1-2.

Mitch Stanley (12) and Craig Carpenter (42) steadied the innings before Stanley was bowled bringing Blake Wilson to the crease.

Wilson and Carpenter moved the score along to 64 before the latter was dismissed leaving the chase up to the middle and late order.

Unfortunately, Canowindra were unable to mount a serious challenge after the dismissals of McHenry (2) and then Wilson (23) with the score at 5-89.

Angus Fisher (5), B Kennedy (5), Shaun Craven (21) and Corey Rooke (not out) were ultimately involved in the unsuccessful run chase, Canowindra finishing 9-139.

The side is at home this Saturday at The Oval, from 1pm.