Orana House committee awarded Community Group of the Year

Cr Jamie Jones with Debbie Rutter, Bec Lord and Leanne Stevenson from Orana House.
Cr Jamie Jones with Debbie Rutter, Bec Lord and Leanne Stevenson from Orana House.

Canowindra's Orana House Trust Committee has been named Community Group of the Year at this year's Australia Day awards.

Speaking on behalf of the committee, Debbie Rutter thanked the Canowindra community for their support.

"Canowindra is a special place, it's extremely dear to my heart and it's got my heritage, but it's also got my future," she said.

"Orana House is extremely important to a lot of people for different reasons with its history, the work it's done in the past and its plan for the future.

"Thank you to everyone who does a lot behind the scenes and to council for their participation and support with everything that has been happening."

Working as volunteers, the committee allows Orana House to provide essential, affordable facilities to the community, especially vulnerable people.

According to Cabonne Council, current groups include Alcoholics Anonymous, Narcotics Anonymous, Al-Anon supporting family members affected by alcohol or drugs and Canowindra Creative Centre Inc.

"The venue provides a safe, welcoming and accessible environment and the Orana Committee work closely with Cabonne Council to develop Orana House as an inclusive facility open to the community," a council spokesperson said ahead of Australia Day.

"Orana House has a long history with Canowindra, with many emotional and life changing connections to the building and the role it has played in the betterment of lives.

"Maintaining that relevance is very important to the committee and their goal is to grow it into the future with the welfare of the community the primary focus."